Average price — Mean sale price across all transactions. Sensitive to the mix of homes that sold.
$973,289
Source: TRREB MarketWatch, January 2026
Greater Toronto Area · TRREB MarketWatch
January 2026
In January 2026 the average selling price across the Greater Toronto Area fell 3.3% to $973,289 versus December 2025, and sales dropped 16.6% to 3,082, though a quieter January after the December holidays is the seasonal norm.
All TRREB areas · all home types
Average price — Mean sale price across all transactions. Sensitive to the mix of homes that sold.
$973,289
Median price — The midpoint sale price. Less affected by a few very high or low sales than the average.
$840,000
MLS® HPI benchmark — Quality-adjusted price for a typical home. The cleanest like-for-like price signal.
$936,100
Sales — Firm transactions reported through the MLS® System during the month.
3,082
Dollar volume — Total value of all sales in the month.
$3.00B
New listings — Properties newly listed during the month.
10,774
Active listings — Listings available at month end.
17,975
Avg. LDOM — Average days on market for the current listing. Not reported before 2020.
45
Avg. PDOM — Average days on market across the property’s consecutive listings. Not reported before 2020.
67
Avg. SP/LP — Average sale price as a share of list price. Above 100% means competing offers were common.
97%
SNLR — Sales-to-new-listings ratio, computed here from this month’s counts. Below 40% favours buyers, above 60% favours sellers.
28.6%
Months of inventory — Active listings divided by monthly sales — how long the current stock would take to sell. Computed here, not TRREB’s trend figure.
5.8
Generated from the figures above. Ordered by size of month-over-month move.
Indicators published with this edition
Real GDP growth
2.6%
Q3 2025
Toronto employment growth
1.7%
December 2025
Toronto unemployment rate
8.1%
December 2025
Inflation (CPI, year-over-year)
2.4%
December 2025
Bank of Canada overnight rate
2.3%
January 2026
Prime rate
4.5%
January 2026
1-year mortgage rate
5.84%
January 2026
3-year mortgage rate
6.05%
January 2026
5-year mortgage rate
6.09%
January 2026
All TRREB areas
| Home type | Sales | MoM | Average price | MoM | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Detached | 1,352 | −338 −20.0% down 338, 20.0% versus December 2025 | $1,277,915 | −$25,065 −1.9% down $25,065, 1.9% versus December 2025 | −7.2% down 7.2% |
| Semi-detached | 278 | −45 −13.9% down 45, 13.9% versus December 2025 | $945,967 | −$11,390 −1.2% down $11,390, 1.2% versus December 2025 | −9.7% down 9.7% |
| Att/row/townhouse | 310 | −30 −8.8% down 30, 8.8% versus December 2025 | $914,738 | −$58,177 −6.0% down $58,177, 6.0% versus December 2025 | −7.0% down 7.0% |
| Condo townhouse | 242 | −31 −11.4% down 31, 11.4% versus December 2025 | $697,599 | −$26,321 −3.6% down $26,321, 3.6% versus December 2025 | −13.1% down 13.1% |
| Condo apartment | 856 | −173 −16.8% down 173, 16.8% versus December 2025 | $604,759 | −$23,270 −3.7% down $23,270, 3.7% versus December 2025 | −9.8% down 9.8% |
| Link | 34 | +3 +9.7% up 3, 9.7% versus December 2025 | $891,732 | +$21,203 +2.4% up $21,203, 2.4% versus December 2025 | −9.7% down 9.7% |
| Co-op apartment | 1 | no change no change versus December 2025 | $240,000 | −$20,000 −7.7% down $20,000, 7.7% versus December 2025 | −57.0% down 57.0% |
| Detached condo | 5 | −3 −37.5% down 3, 37.5% versus December 2025 | $1,317,000 | +$329,687 +33.4% up $329,687, 33.4% versus December 2025 | +5.4% up 5.4% |
| Co-ownership apartment | 4 | +2 +100.0% up 2, 100.0% versus December 2025 | $437,750 | +$22,750 +5.5% up $22,750, 5.5% versus December 2025 | +11.5% up 11.5% |
13 months to January 2026
| Month | Detached | Semi-detached | Att/row/townhouse | Condo townhouse | Condo apartment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan '25 | 1377430 | 1047728 | 983856 | 802905 | 670675 |
| Feb '25 | 1445879 | 1079996 | 991066 | 802862 | 688055 |
| Mar '25 | 1439268 | 1111791 | 1001043 | 789129 | 682019 |
| Apr '25 | 1431495 | 1088848 | 1005487 | 783935 | 678048 |
| May '25 | 1425264 | 1098447 | 995662 | 763172 | 683413 |
| Jun '25 | 1392033 | 1089751 | 965792 | 761106 | 696424 |
| Jul '25 | 1361660 | 1041359 | 929524 | 743469 | 651483 |
| Aug '25 | 1312240 | 980102 | 946395 | 739341 | 642195 |
| Sep '25 | 1359030 | 1015543 | 947928 | 747658 | 655231 |
| Oct '25 | 1355506 | 1033770 | 935042 | 735123 | 660208 |
| Nov '25 | 1346017 | 997499 | 913078 | 718191 | 663290 |
| Dec '25 | 1302980 | 957357 | 972915 | 723920 | 628029 |
| Jan '26 | 1277915 | 945967 | 914738 | 697599 | 604759 |
Ranked across 50 of the 55 required areas · minimum 10 sales to qualify
Top 5
Bottom 5
Top 5
Bottom 5
Areas below the sales threshold are excluded — with a handful of sales, a couple of transactions can invent a swing that is not a market move.
Sales-to-new-listings and months of inventory, computed from this month’s counts
SNLR
28.6%
prior month 69.8%
Months of inventory
5.8
All TRREB areas reads differently on the two balance measures — a buyer's market at 28.6% sales-to-new-listings, but balanced conditions at 5.8 months of inventory. They measure different things, so the split is worth noting.
SNLR
26.3%
prior month 69.9%
Months of inventory
6.5
City of Toronto (416) sits in a buyer's market: 26.3% of new listings sold and 6.5 months of inventory on hand.
SNLR
30.0%
prior month 69.7%
Months of inventory
5.5
905 total reads differently on the two balance measures — a buyer's market at 30.0% sales-to-new-listings, but balanced conditions at 5.5 months of inventory. They measure different things, so the split is worth noting.
These are computed here from the month’s raw counts. TRREB also publishes its own trend-smoothed SNLR and months-of-inventory figures, which are shown separately on the area pages and are not the same measure.
Downtown TorontoMidtownScarboroughYork RegionDurham Region
Downtown
$734,267
Aggregated across 2 districts · View →
Midtown
$1,387,449
Aggregated across 6 districts · View →
Scarborough
$787,106
Aggregated across 8 districts · View →
York Region
$1,110,582
Region total · View →
Durham Region
$818,694
Region total · View →
Average price for a multi-district group is weighted by dollar volume, not an average of averages — that would give a district with three sales the same weight as one with three hundred.